ATTN: Site Cops, possible breach, haha

ATTN: Site Cops, possible breach, haha

I'm putting this out there for general awareness and to signal the site police (if exists) that web bots or some other type of virtual intruder may be creating bogus accounts and using personal information from users (esp. those who link to FB in theory) to send harassing messages; not sure of the intent, and this one is so real, that I can't determine if it's a bot or not. I received a message from a member "bulldogfan" just after that member created their profile on here. When you create an account, there a Captcha now, right? Anyway, it's pretty clever, but there are a few inconsistencies that lead me to believe it is a non-human. Here is the message; I stripped off my private info and put my comments in parenth:
"Hey buddy. I can't tell you how happy I was to see you on here. Can you believe that it's been almost ten years since Florida State. How are things at (the name of my employer), by the way? Man, I can't believe your pushing 50 (btw I'm 35, wtf dudebot?) . How does 46 feel? lol Did you enjoy the TAB show in Atlanta? I can't imagine it being as good as a Lovelady (<-- my old band) show and, besides, I heard there were some real dick heads there (at the ATL show? weird, standers? LOL) . Say hi to (my Mom's name, and she passed 10 yrs ago) and Gilbert (me) for me. Maybe I'll catch you at SCGO sometime (reference to an FSU club in Orlando). I'll be headed down to (my exact city of residence) in a couple of months and I'll be sure to look you up. Can't wait to see you. (uh, no name? c'mon)"
Now that I think about it, some of that stuff is on my LinkedIn account, hmmm. Anyway, it's clever, not sure about the intent; that is my struggle at this point. Have any of you received this type of spam on here before?
Recommend DEL username = bulldogfan created 2/22.
I knew it was bunk because the title was my middle name, Donovan, which is my web handle elsewhere. Whatever, just thought it might be interesting to some of you, given the past dealings with hackers/posers/trolls on the site.

Replies for this Board Topic

Copied and pasted below is a similar suspicious message I got on back in January. I knew I was irresistable but didn't realize this chick could tell from my profile only!

"My name is Roseline Jammeh, i saw your profile in(theavettbrothers.com) today and became intrested in you,i will also like to know you the more,and i want you to send an e-mail to my e-mail address so i can give you my picture for you to know whom i am.Here is my email address(roseline102jammeh@hotmail.com) believe we can move from here!I am waiting for your mail to my e-mail address above favour (Remeber the distance or colour does not matter but love matters alot in life.
Thanks
Roseline"

--
Please talk slowly. I don't hear good anymore.

I got that one as well, oldsorryman.

--
"Decide what to be and go be it"

www.brad-otto.com

Heh, yeah, you gotta love the grammer these dummies use. I heard a report that as many as 2% of the spam emails are successful, in terms of eventually taking your money somehow. It's quite lucrative.